Episode 157: Sarah King, Drayton Farley, Have Gun Will Travel, Creekbed, D'Orjay the Singing Outlaw, Taylor Ackerman's Global Acid Reset, Leeann Skoda, baby chemist, MIINUTEMEN, Mary Halvorson, Willie Jones, Chuck Briseno, Jade Turner


Manage episode 284319407 series 1999041
By Rachel Cholst. Discovered by Player FM and our community — copyright is owned by the publisher, not Player FM, and audio is streamed directly from their servers. Hit the Subscribe button to track updates in Player FM, or paste the feed URL into other podcast apps.

Rachel is snow-blind and annoyed! So only one thing is new. But also, there’s lots of jazz, country, and rock in this week’s episode -- just a fun smorgasbord of everything!

Album of the Week: Mary Halvorson -- Code Girl I don’t know enough about jazz to say anything educated about this album. But from the perspective of someone who’s into guitar-based music, Halvorson is incredible. She can shred as hard as any hair metal band, but chooses her moments of maximalism carefully. Code Girl is a brief visit into a universe with epic vistas and narrow windows. And if you’ve been listening to rock’n’roll for any period of time, you’ll appreciate a jazz take on the old “I’m sick of touring” song. While you’re here, check out this list of Caribbean country music from Holler. Huge thanks to Podcorn for sponsoring this episode. Explore sponsorship opportunities and start monetizing your podcast by signing up here: https://podcorn.com/podcasters/
  1. Sarah King -- “War Pigs” (Single)
  2. Drayton Farley -- “Tightrope” (Stoic Faces)
  3. Have Gun, Will Travel -- “Let the Sunlight In (Demo)” (Raw Materials: Home Demos)
  4. Creekbed -- “Lengthening Light” (Single)
  5. D’Orjay the Singing Outlaw -- “New Kind of Outlaw” (New Kind of Outlaw)
  6. Taylor Ackmeran’s Global Acid Reset -- “Stand Tall” (Encephelon)
  7. Leeann Skoda -- “Still” (Single)
  8. baby chemist -- “I’ll Still Be Here” (Single)
  9. MINUTEMEN -- “It’s Expected I’m Gone” (Double Nickels on the Dime)
  10. Mary Halvorson -- “Off the Record” (Code Girl)
  11. Willie Jones -- “American Dream” (Single)
  12. Chuck Briseno -- “Draw You a Map (Live at Sun Studio)” (Single)
  13. Jade Turner -- “Hangover Blues” (Single)
Podcast intro by Alma Contra, music from Two Cow Garage’s “Stars & Gutters” Send me music via SubmitHub! Send me money via Ko-fi or Patreon. Find Rachel and her comic via https://linktr.ee/rachel.cholst

190 episodes