Elixir Wizards Dojo: Nerves Part 2 with Connor Rigby and Todd Resudek

42:41
 
Share
 

Manage episode 269517642 series 2493466
By SmartLogic LLC. Discovered by Player FM and our community — copyright is owned by the publisher, not Player FM, and audio is streamed directly from their servers. Hit the Subscribe button to track updates in Player FM, or paste the feed URL into other podcast apps.

Welcome to the second part of our special Elixir Wizards Dojo. A mashup made in partnership with ElixirConf Japan. In today’s episode, we talk to Nerves core team members Todd Resudek and Connor Rigby about all things Nerves. But first, Todd leads us into a delightful digression about his enjoyment of heavy metal music. From metal back to Nerves, Todd chats about how he uses Nerves to monitor his internet connection and to automatically restart his router when certain conditions are met. After talking about using Flutter and Dart to build GUIs, we ask Todd to share another of his Nerves projects; the future of sprinklers — the Drizzle 2000! We then explore Connor’s self-defined role in the Nerves team as the development head of networking libraries before discussing how easy it is to use Nerves if you are an Elixir user. Todd and Connor dive into their utopian visions for the future of Nerves and why no other IoT solutions can compete with the tooling that Nerves provides. We talk about FarmBot and the many features that its models have, including how they can pulverize weeds. This springboards the conversion into the increasing importance of IoT tech in the agriculture sector and how it’s likely to be the next billion-dollar industry. We round off the episode by giving our guests the space to plug themselves and they close with a request for listeners to Iron Maiden and Metallica’s first albums. A perfect compliment to the first installment of the Elixir Wizards Dojo, tune in to learn more about the Nerves Project.

Key Points From This Episode:

  • Introducing our guests and this episode’s connection to ElixirConf Japan.
  • Connor and Todd lead a chat on the history and subgenres of heavy metal music.
  • Todd talks about using Nerves to monitor his internet connection and restart his router.
  • Building a user interface for Nerves’s projects using Flutter; Google’s UI toolkit.
  • Best practices for developing apps with a specific focus on GUI apps.
  • Hear about the Drizzle 2000! Todd’s sprinkler controller system that runs on Nerves.
  • Todd and Connor’s respective roles as a part of the Nerves core team.
  • The benefit of using Nerves; once it’s booted it’s a regular Elixir app.
  • What a kiosk terminal is and how you would go about internationalizing one.
  • Exploring the future of Nerves and hardware development.
  • Comparing Nerves to other IoT solutions; in conclusion, nothing can compete.
  • Different FarmBot system models that all use Nerves to grow food for you.
  • Using Nerves to encode and record video or to create a live stream.
  • Why integrating IoT into the agricultural sector will be the next billion-dollar industry.

Links Mentioned in Today’s Episode:

SmartLogic — https://smartlogic.io/
ElixirConf — https://elixirconf.com/2020
Connor Rigby GitHub — https://github.com/ConnorRigby
Todd Resudek Twitter — https://twitter.com/sprsmpl
Todd Resudek GitHub — https://github.com/supersimple
Simplebet — https://simplebet.io/
Flutter — https://flutter.dev/
Binary Noggin — https://binarynoggin.com/
Nerves Project — https://www.nerves-project.org/
Nerves Project GitHub — https://github.com/nerves-project/nerves_pack#erlang-distribution
Nerves Vintage Net GitHub — https://github.com/nerves-networking/vintage_net
Nerves Web Kiosk GitHub — https://github.com/nerves-web-kiosk/kiosk_system_rpi3
Rhapsody of Fire — https://www.rhapsodyoffire.com/
Ronnie James Dio — https://www.ronniejamesdio.com/
DragonForce — https://dragonforce.com/
Black Sabbath — https://www.blacksabbath.com/
Deep Purple — https://deeppurple.com/
Iron Maiden — https://ironmaiden.com
Judas Priest — http://www.judaspriest.com/home/
Sam Dunn — https://www.imdb.com/name/nm0242757/
Ryan Holiday — https://ryanholiday.net/
Arjen Lucassen — https://www.arjenlucassen.com
Metallica — https://www.metallica.com/
San Francisco Symphony — https://www.sfsymphony.org/
Fping — https://fping.org/
Dart — https://dart.dev/
React Native — https://reactnative.dev/
Scenic — https://kry10.com/
Phoenix Framework — https://www.phoenixframework.org/
Drizzler 2000 GitHub — https://github.com/supersimple/drizzle
Ditch Witch — https://www.ditchwitch.com/
Jon Carstens — https://twitter.com/joncarstens?lang=en
Le Tote — https://letote.com/
Electron — https://www.electronjs.org/
Matthew Ludwigs — https://www.linkedin.com/in/mattludwigs/
SmartRent — https://smartrent.com/
Sophie Debenedetto — http://sophiedebenedetto.nyc/
FarmBot — https://farm.bot/
Membrane Framework — https://www.membraneframework.org/
Greg Mefford — https://www.linkedin.com/in/ferggo/
Omni-eye GitHub — https://github.com/GregMefford/omni_eye
Bowery Farming — https://boweryfarming.com/
John Deere — https://www.deere.com

Show Notes - Japanese

Elixir Wizards Dojo 第2部 Connor Rigby と Todd Resudek

Episode S4E13b: 概要

Elixir Wizards Dojo スペシャル番組の第二部にようこそ。ElixirConf JPとのパートナーシップによるマッシュアップです。今日のエピソードでは、NervesコアチームのメンバーであるTodd Resudek と Connor Rigby とNervesの全てについて話します。でも最初に、Toddは私たちをヘビーメタル音楽の彼の楽しみについての楽しい余談に導きます。メタルからNervesに戻って、ToddはNervesをインターネット接続のモニタリングと、特定の条件が満たされた時にルーターの自動で再起動する方法について話します。FlutterとDartを使ってGUIを構築する方法について話したあと、Toddに彼の作ったもう一つのNervesプロジェクト、スプリンクラーの未来,Drizzle 2000!についてシェアしてもらいます。そしてConnorがNervesチームにおける自ら定義した役割である、ネットワーキングライブラリの開発について探求し、もしElixirユーザーである場合にNervesを使うことがいかに簡単かについて議論します。ToddとConnorはNervesの未来の理想郷についての話題と、Nervesが提供するツールに敵うIoTソリューションが他に存在しない理由について飛び込みます。ファームボットについて話をして、雑草をやっつける機能を含む、ファームボットのモデルが持つたくさんの機能について話します。これは、農業分野でのIoT技術の重要性の高まりへの転換と、どのように次の10億ドル規模の産業になる可能性が高まってくるかについてを示しています。エピソードの締めくくりは、ゲストに自分自身とつながる方法について紹介してもらいながら、アイアンメイデン(Iron Maiden)とメタリカ(Metallica)のファーストアルバムをリスナーに紹介します。Elixir Wizards Dojoの初回への謝辞から、Nervesプロジェクトの詳細を学んでください。

このエピソードのみどころ

ゲストの紹介と、このエピソードとElixirConf JPとのコネクションについて
Connor と Todd によるヘビーメタル音楽の歴史とサブジャンルへの案内
ToddのNervesを使ったインターネット接続のモニタリングとルーターの再起動の
Fultter というGoogleのUIツールキットを使ったNervesプロジェクトのユーザインタフェース構築
GUIアプリに焦点を当てたときのアプリ開発のベストプラクティス
Drizzle 2000について聴ける! Nervesで動くToddのスプリンクラーコントローラシステム
ToddとConnorのNervesコアチームにおけるそれぞれの役割
Nervesを使う利点: 一度起動すると通常のElixirアプリになる
キオスク端末とは何か,どのようにキオスク端末を国際化するか
Nervesとハードウェア開発の将来の探求
Nervesと他のIoTソリューションの比較: 結論としては,Nervesに敵うものはない
ファームボットシステムのモデルの違いについて: 全てにNervesが使われていて、食糧を育てる
Nervesを使ってビデオをエンコードしたり録画したり,ライブストリーミングしたりする方法
IoTを農業分野に統合することが次の10億ドル産業になる理由

Special Guests: Connor Rigby and Todd Resudek.

74 episodes