#286: Feeding the Mind | Dr. Mark Hyman

50:34
 
Share
 

Manage episode 273116076 series 172966
By ABC News. Discovered by Player FM and our community — copyright is owned by the publisher, not Player FM, and audio is streamed directly from their servers. Hit the Subscribe button to track updates in Player FM, or paste the feed URL into other podcast apps.

Today we’re going to get a deep take on the old cliche, “You are what you eat.” Usually that expression speaks to the impact of food on our bodies, but what is often overlooked is the impact nutrition has on our minds. Dr. Mark Hyman is the author of a book called Food Fix. He studied Buddhism in college and then went on to become a practicing family physician and a leader in the field of Functional Medicine. He’s written thirteen New York Times Bestselling books, including his new one, and is also the host of a podcast called The Doctor’s Farmacy. In this episode, we talk about the impact of food on our mental health, and Dr. Hyman’s view that food is a social justice issue that impacts everything from chronic diseases to climate.

Where to find Dr. Mark Hyman online:

Website: https://drhyman.com

Twitter: https://twitter.com/drmarkhyman

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/drmarkhyman

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/drmarkhyman/

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/ultrawellness

Books:

Food Fix by Mark Hyman, MD: https://foodfixbook.com/

Other Books: https://drhyman.com/about/#section-6

We care deeply about supporting you in your meditation practice, and feel that providing you with high quality teachers is one of the best ways to do that. Customers of the Ten Percent Happier app say they stick around specifically for the range of teachers, and the deep wisdom they impart, to help them deepen their practice. For anyone new to the app, we've got a special discount just for you. If you're an existing subscriber, we thank you for your support. To claim your discount, visit tenpercent.com/reward

We would appreciate it if you can take a few minutes to help us out by answering a survey. The team here is always looking for ways to improve. Please go to tenpercent.com/survey. Thank you.

Other Resources Mentioned:

Robert Thurman: https://religion.columbia.edu/content/robert-f-thurman

Suzuki Roshi: https://www.lionsroar.com/remembering-shunryu-suzuki/

Jon Kabat Zinn: https://www.mindfulnesscds.com/

Paul Farmer - Partners in Health: https://www.pih.org/paul-farmer

Nicholas Christakis, MD, PhD, MPH: https://hcp.hms.harvard.edu/people/nicholas-christakis

Pastor Rick Warren: https://pastorrick.com/

The Purpose Driven Life by Rick Warren: https://bookshop.org/books/the-purpose-driven-life-what-on-earth-am-i-here-for-expanded/9780310337508

The Biggest Little Farm: https://www.biggestlittlefarmmovie.com/

Grocery Manufacturers Association: https://www.atg.wa.gov/news/news-releases/ag-grocery-manufacturers-assoc-pay-18m-largest-campaign-finance-penalty-us

Sustainable Food Policy Alliance: https://foodpolicyalliance.org/

Vanguard Renewables: https://vanguardrenewables.com/

Sam Kass: https://obamawhitehouse.archives.gov/blog/author/sam-kass

Additional Resources:

Ten Percent Happier Live: https://tenpercent.com/live

Coronavirus Sanity Guide: https://www.tenpercent.com/coronavirussanityguide

Free App access for Frontline Workers: https://tenpercent.com/care

Full Shownotes: https://www.tenpercent.com/podcast-episode/dr-mark-hyman-286

591 episodes