#07 - The Great Sea Swallows Her Whole For A Treat


Manage episode 262976027 series 2593507
By Liz Ryerson. Discovered by Player FM and our community — copyright is owned by the publisher, not Player FM, and audio is streamed directly from their servers. Hit the Subscribe button to track updates in Player FM, or paste the feed URL into other podcast apps.

greetings and apologies for the time between episodes! the music industry (among with many other creative industries) facing a severe downturn because of the recent pandemic and the general deluge of traumatic news has made me reflect more on smaller, more understated artistic triumphs as an antidote.

so this episode i escape the present by talking about some timeless music from the recent past: the unassuming yet grandiose singer-songwriter Nina Nastasia, and particularly her (in my opinion) best albums The Blackened Air and Run To Ruin.

things discussed in the podcast:

Chris Dahlen's Pitchfork review of The Blackened Air: https://pitchfork.com/reviews/albums/5713-the-blackened-air/ and Run To Ruin: https://pitchfork.com/reviews/albums/5712-run-to-ruin/

John Peel archive video on Nina Nastasia: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vWNjoa4nLYo

Electrical Audio "Crap/Not Crap" thread on Nina Nastasia: https://www.electricalaudio.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=663

Nina Nastasia's music on the dreaded Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/artist/1llUGXhBESnmaCxpBV4zwe

recent track featuring Nina Nastasia: https://danielknox.bandcamp.com/track/the-poisoner-feat-nina-nastasia

Phosphorescent "Been So Long" cover: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gZrcNZBKnic

music included in this episode:

"Young Folks" by Peter, Bjorn and John (2006)

by Nina Nastasia:

"Oblivion" and "Roadkill" from Dogs (2000)

"This Is What It Is", "Rosemary", and "Been So Long" from The Blackened Air (2002)

"Superstar", "We Never Talked", "I Say That I Will Go", "You Her and Me", and "On Teasing" from Run To Ruin (2003)

"Our Day Trip" from On Leaving (2006)

"Outlaster" from Outlaster (2010)

title music as always is "Museum of Agony" from the PS2 game Stretch Panic by Norio Hanzawa

7 episodes