In Search SEO 76: Unpacking Google Patents for Better SEO Know-How

1:00:47
 
Share
 

Manage episode 265167951 series 2462000
By The In Search SEO Podcast and Rank Ranger. Discovered by Player FM and our community — copyright is owned by the publisher, not Player FM, and audio is streamed directly from their servers. Hit the Subscribe button to track updates in Player FM, or paste the feed URL into other podcast apps.
SEO legend Bill Slawski joins the podcast as we explore his approach to using Google patents to better understand the world of SEO: • Why analyzing Google’s patents are such a vital part of doing SEO • How to approach Google’s patents for SEO insights • What trends and patterns have Google’s patents revealed? Plus, we take a look at a new feature that is putting top of the funnel content on the SERP into a corner! ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ EPISODE SUMMARY ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ In the first segment, Mordy and Sapir discuss Google’s topic filter SERP feature and its impact on online businesses. In short, while websites would prefer to initially grab a large audience on their landing pages and then have the user browse for specifics, Google wants to skip that step and have the users filter their decision before they click on any site! In other words, Google is leaning websites to create more targeted content as opposed to casting a larger net. In the interview segment, Mordy interviewed Google patent maven Bill Slawski. After starting off with why Bill’s websites have a fish and sea theme, the two dive into how to research Google patents. As the conversation evolves, Bill and Mordy go into specific patents from the past as well some interesting patent facts... like how not all patents are implemented as Google patents are often redundant approaches to a particular problem. Timestamps: How Google is Making It Tougher Than Ever to Reach Broad Audiences [00:05:30 - 00:17:53] How to Analyze Google Patents to Unlock SEO Gems [00:17:53 - 00:49:41] SEO News [00:51:12 - 00:56:58] Resources: Spam, Damn Spam, and Statistics www.microsoft.com/en-us/research/publication/spam-damn-spam-and-statistics-using-statistical-analysis-to-locate-spam-web-pages/ In Search SEO Podcast [Episode 55] www.rankranger.com/blog/bert-seo When Google’s Intent Targeting Goes Too Far www.rankranger.com/blog/google-intent-targeting Dan Russel’s Site sites.google.com/site/dmrussell/ Google is Suggesting Searches Based on Users’ Recent Activity searchengineland.com/google-is-suggesting-searches-based-on-users-recent-activity-334309 Hosts: Mordy Oberstein twitter.com/MordyOberstein linkedin.com/in/mordy-oberstein-12551715/ Sapir Karabello linkedin.com/in/sapir-karabello-466865182/ Special Guest: Bill Slawski https://gofishdigital.com/ www.seobythesea.com/ twitter.com/bill_slawski www.linkedin.com/in/slawski/ Follow the podcast on Twitter: twitter.com/InSearch_SEO Subscribe: ow.ly/sDkT50zjRPJ Presented by Rank Ranger: www.rankranger.com/

89 episodes