In Search SEO 80: How Effective Are Google’s Core Updates?

59:47
 
Share
 

Manage episode 267763619 series 2462000
By The In Search SEO Podcast and Rank Ranger. Discovered by Player FM and our community — copyright is owned by the publisher, not Player FM, and audio is streamed directly from their servers. Hit the Subscribe button to track updates in Player FM, or paste the feed URL into other podcast apps.
Lily Ray joins the podcast to explore the effectiveness as well as the underpinnings of Google’s core updates: · Is Google rewarding the wrong sites with its core updates? · What is the relationship between the core updates & E-A-T? · What’s the best approach to the core updates? Plus, we talk about the mindset needed to create truly authoritative content! ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ EPISODE SUMMARY ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ In the first segment, Mordy and Sapir share some practical content marketing advice on how to create authoritative content. In short, write for the user! Throw all those SEO metrics out the window! Write because you want to help problem-solve a question. It seems simple, but having that mindset and really meaning it takes a lot of work. But we believe you can do it! In the interview segment, Mordy interviewed Lily Ray, of Path Interactive, to discuss Google's core updates. They discuss the recent Google May 2020 Core Update and how effective or ineffective it was. Afterwards, they discuss in a broad sense, what to look for when researching core updates. This is the first episode where we specifically focus on Google's core updates in our interview segment! Can you believe it? Resources: The Wrath of the May 2020 Core Update and the Lessons Learned https://www.rankranger.com/blog/may-2020-core-update Google May 2020 Core Update Officially Over https://www.searchenginejournal.com/google-may-2020-update-over/368962/ 550 Winners and Losers of Google’s May 2020 Core Algorithm Update https://www.pathinteractive.com/blog/seo/550-winners-and-losers-of-googles-may-2020-core-algorithm-update/ What Webmasters Should Know About Google’s Core Updates https://webmasters.googleblog.com/2019/08/core-updates.html Timestamps: How to Write Authoritative Content for SEO [04:37 - 21:06] Is Something Amiss with Google's Core Algorithm Updates?[21:06 - 53:01] SEO News [53:58 - 56:40] Hosts: Mordy Oberstein twitter.com/MordyOberstein linkedin.com/in/mordy-oberstein-12551715/ Sapir Karabello linkedin.com/in/sapir-karabello-466865182/ Special Guest: Lily Ray https://twitter.com/lilyraynyc https://www.linkedin.com/in/lily-ray-44755615/ https://www.pathinteractive.com/ Follow the podcast on Twitter: twitter.com/InSearch_SEO Subscribe: ow.ly/sDkT50zjRPJ Presented by Rank Ranger: www.rankranger.com/

88 episodes