The Power of Disability Part 3 — with Carmen Papalia

37:57
 
Share
 

Manage episode 291939796 series 2132586
By Below the Radar and SFU's Vancity Office of Community Engagement. Discovered by Player FM and our community — copyright is owned by the publisher, not Player FM, and audio is streamed directly from their servers. Hit the Subscribe button to track updates in Player FM, or paste the feed URL into other podcast apps.
Non-visual artist Carmen Papalia speaks with Al Etmanski about the rampancy of ableism across institutions — from the art world to healthcare, to the symbol of the white cane. Carmen and Al discuss how institutions can be sites of retraumatization that can often overlook and underappreciate variations in ability. Carmen also explores some key ideas central to disability justice, provides some suggestions on how to be a good ally, and considers how accessibility is dependent on the social, cultural, and political conditions of a space and the people within it. Carmen speaks about some of his works, including White Cane Amplified, Mobility Device, and Open Access, drawing out his own positions on the topic of disability, and the importance of mutual aid within the disability community. “At the heart of disability justice is the idea of mutual aid, which means building a capacity for care that isn’t otherwise available.” - Carmen Papalia Read the full transcript of this episode: https://www.sfu.ca/sfuwoodwards/community-engagement/Below-the-Radar/transcripts/carmen-papalia/ Resources: — Carmen Papalia’s website: https://carmenpapalia.com/ — Vocal Eye: http://www.vocaleye.ca/ — Open Access by Carmen Papalia: https://carmenpapalia.com/2015/08/21/open-access/ — “An Accessibility Manifesto for the Arts” - Canadian Art: https://canadianart.ca/essays/access-revived/ — White Cane Amplified by Carmen Papalia: https://carmenpapalia.com/2015/03/01/white-cane-amplified/ — Mobility Device by Carmen Papalia: https://carmenpapalia.com/2013/06/01/mobility-device/ — Sins Invalid: https://www.sinsinvalid.org/ — Skin, Tooth, and Bone: The Basis of Movement is Our People, a Disability Justice primer by Sins Invalid: https://www.sinsinvalid.org/disability-justice-primer — Review of Skin, Tooth, and Bone: The Basis of Movement is Our People: https://disabilityarts.online/magazine/opinion/sins-invalid-skin-tooth-bone-basis-movement-people-disability-justice-primer/ — Sins Invalid access suggestions for mobilizations: https://www.sinsinvalid.org/blog/access-suggestions-for-mobilizations — Sins Invalid access suggestions for public events: https://www.sinsinvalid.org/blog/access-suggestions-for-a-public-event — Disability Filibuster for Bill C-7: https://disabilityfilibuster.ca/

182 episodes