Episode 114: Le Havre, Juicy Fruits, Mini Express

2:01:32
 
Share
 

Manage episode 295550145 series 2688574
By Board Game BBQ. Discovered by Player FM and our community — copyright is owned by the publisher, not Player FM, and audio is streamed directly from their servers. Hit the Subscribe button to track updates in Player FM, or paste the feed URL into other podcast apps.

Episode 114 - Le Havre, Juicy Fruits, Mini Express

On this episode Steve and Def are joined by our very own Internet sensation - Mike, fresh from some online gaming sessions this week with Lincoln and Nikki from Game Night! and then Stella from Meeple University. (links below)

In our Sizzling Games segment Steve has been continuing his love affair with Uwe Rosenberg in Le Havre, Mike introduces us to the islands of Juicy Fruits (and introduces us to mangosteens, which I still swear is a made-up word!), and Def relives his childhood dreams of being a train conductor by playing Mini Express.

The Topic of the Pod is our most anticipated games: based on Kickstarters, expansions, retail releases, and rumours. Leave a comment on our socials if we didn't mention the game that you are most looking forward to!

In the Board Game Bracket 2.0 we settle last week's match-up: Cartographers vs Res Arcana, before we launch the next battle: Wingspan vs Archaeology.

We quickly check the mailbag for a quick Roast - the team share their favourite 2-player games and 4-player games, Def discloses his gaming priorities when moving house, and we laugh at the longest games the crew have ever played.

Finally in Swear An Oath, Mike fulfilled his oath of attempting 5x games solo and had an absolute blast. Def swore to play Scythe against not one but FOUR automas, and remarkably he came second! And Steve enjoyed the delightful Remember Our Trip. New oaths include Tiny Epic Dinosaurs and Stone Age (Mike), an online game with Steve & Mike (Def), and another Uwe Rosenberg classic: Caverna (Steve).

Sizzling Games: Le Havre (04:50), Juicy Fruits (18:20), Mini Express (27:55)

Topic of the Pod: Most Anticipated Games (39:27)

Board Game Bracket Battle 2.0: Wingspan vs Archaeology (01:15:10)

The Roast (01:29:00)

Swear an Oath: (01:43:10)

Mike plays Cartographgers with Lincoln & Nikki (https://www.twitch.tv/videos/1052396343)

Mike played Trek-12 with Stella from Meeple University (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=83FoZb9tACQ)

**BOARD GAME BBQ GAME DAY** Unfortunately due to the latest COVID Lockdown in Melbourne we have been forced to move the Melbourne Game Day. The event will now be held on Saturday, July 3rd from 10am-midnight Tickets are currently on hold, but will be re-opened soon at https://www.eventbrite.com.au/e/board-game-bbq-melbourne-game-day-1-tickets-149101108429

Join us for the second Board game BBQ Day to be held in Sydney! The event will be held on Saturday, July 24th from 11am-11pm. Tickets available now at https://www.eventbrite.com.au/e/board-game-bbq-sydney-game-day-2-tickets-154911842491

Join us for the third Board game BBQ Day to be held in Brisbane! The event will be held on Saturday, July 31st, from 10am-late. Tickets on sale now at: https://www.eventbrite.com.au/e/board-game-bbq-brisbane-game-day-3-tickets-157314699501

**SPONSORS** Thanks to Advent Games for sponsoring our Sizzling Games segment. Advent Games (http://www.adventgames.com.au/) are an Australian online board game store based in Sydney, NSW. Their core values are integrity, customer satisfaction, and providing a wide range of products including those hard-to-find board games.

We have new sponsors! Game Toppers LLC Have joined the BBQ, and are providing us with one of their Game Toppers for our Game Days! Check out their Kickstarter now! These Game Toppers are amazing, and can transform any old table into an A1 quality Game Table! https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/burky/game-toppers-30-upgrading-every-game-you-play?ref=discovery&term=game%20toppers

Our Swear An Oath segment is proudly sponsored by 2D6 Games. Check out their website at (2D6games.com.au) to see their massive range of games and don't forget they offer free delivery all around Australia. So why not order your next Oath game from them tonight!!

**COMPETITION** This month, thanks to Dean at Advent Games, we are giving away 2x copies of Nidevillir. For your chance to win, head on over to the Advent Games webpage and check out the New Arrivals page. Then comment on our Facebook Community Page with your favourite game from that list, and why, and you could win one of the two copies of Nidevillir up for grabs.

**PATREON** Yes, that's right. We have a Patreon. By becoming a Patreon member you will receive exclusive content, have access to a members only section of our discord where you can contribute to the content of the show, and much more. Your Patreon support will also allow us to expand the podcast and deliver some exciting upcoming projects that we have planned over the next 12 months. Our team at the Board Game BBQ Podcast love what we do and will continue to deliver the same shenanigans that you have come to expect from us, and we are already incredibly grateful and humbled by all of your support. The Patreon is simply a way for you to continue to support the Board Game BBQ Podcast and help us cover the ongoing costs that come with producing two 90min episodes a week. Being a member of the Patreon is by no means an obligation and please do not support the Patreon if it will it cause you financial hardship in any way. But if you would like to support us from as little as USD$5 a month please click the link and head to the Patreon page. Thanks again for all of your continued support. We work hard to create a welcoming and inclusive community and you are all awesome. See you at the BBQ!! Patreon link: https://www.patreon.com/BoardGameBBQ

**BOARDGAMEBBQ.COM** https://boardgamebbq.com/ Head on over to the Board Game BBQ website for links to previous episodes, more information on all of the games mentioned, and upcoming events.

**JOIN OUR DISCORD!** The BGBBQ now has a Discord Channel. Want to join the community and chat with the team and other listeners about your favourite hobby? Like to get updates when our podcasts are released, and get exclusive content? Need a place you can chat with other players while you're playing your own online games, overlooking for some like-minded gamers to play online with? Well, here's your invite: https://discord.gg/wgswSutRAz

**FACEBOOK COMMUNITY** https://www.facebook.com/groups/995437657579603/ Why not join The Board Game BBQ Community page on Facebook. It's a place where everyone can post about their games, write reviews, engage with the community, and support each other. Regardless of if you are a casual gamer, a designer, an artist, a content creator - everyone is welcome!

**INSTAGRAM** https://www.instagram.com/boardgamebbq/ Follow us on Instagram to be notified when a new episode drops, or when our Discord events are happening. And don't forget to use #oathfulfilled when you finally get a game off your shelf of shame.

Has this episode left you with a thirst for more? Here are all of the games that we discussed: Le Havre (2008) https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/35677/le-havre Juicy Fruits (2021) https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/325698/juicy-fruits Mini Express (2021) https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/300751/mini-express Terraforming Mars: Ares Expedition (2021) https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/328871/terraforming-mars-ares-expedition Monsters On Board (2021) https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/293264/monsters-board Unsettled (2021) https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/290484/unsettled Townsfolk Tussle (2021) https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/312859/townsfolk-tussle Cartographers Heroes (2021) https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/315767/cartographers-heroes 18Chesapeake (2020) https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/253608/18chesapeake Return To Dark Tower (2021) https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/256680/return-dark-tower Small Railroad Empires (2021) https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/299178/small-railroad-empires Zombicide: Undead or Alive (2022) https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/331224/zombicide-undead-or-alive Ticket To Ride: Europe 15th Anniversary (2021) https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/329841/ticket-ride-europe-15th-anniversary Isle of Cats: Boat Pack (2022) https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/338021/isle-cats-boat-pack Marvel United: X-Men (2022) https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/336382/marvel-united-x-men Targi (2012) https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/118048/targi 7 Wonders Duel (2015) https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/173346/7-wonders-duel Raptor (2015) https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/177639/raptor Isle of Cats (2019) https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/281259/isle-cats Teotihuacan: City of Gods (2018) https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/229853/teotihuacan-city-gods City of the Big Shoulders (2019) https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/214880/city-big-shoulders Clans of Caledonia (2017) https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/216132/clans-caledonia Underwater Cities (2018) https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/247763/underwater-cities Kanban EV (2020) https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/284378/kanban-ev Escape Plan (2019) https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/142379/escape-plan Super-Skill Pinball 4Cade (2020) https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/302524/super-skill-pinball-4-cade Fleet: The Dice Game (2018) https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/245961/fleet-dice-game Plague Inc (2017) https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/195162/plague-inc-board-game Baseball Highlights: 2045 (2015) https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/151022/baseball-highlights-2045 Dice Throne: Season One (2018) https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/216734/dice-throne-season-one Res Arcana (2019) https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/262712/res-arcana Cartographers (2019) https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/263918/cartographers Wingspan (2019) https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/266192/wingspan Archaeology: The New Expedition (2016) https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/191300/archaeology-new-expedition Dwellings of Eldervale (2020) https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/271055/dwellings-eldervale Architects of the West Kingdom (2018) https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/236457/architects-west-kingdom Maximum Apocalypse (2018) https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/188547/maximum-apocalypse Tiny Epic Dinosaurs (2020) https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/291508/tiny-epic-dinosaurs Scythe (2016) https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/169786/scythe Remember Our Trip (2019) https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/294230/remember-our-trip Caverna: The Cave Farmers (2013) https://boardgamegeek.com/boardgame/102794/caverna-cave-farmers

--- Join in the conversation on our Facebook on Instagram pages, or drop us a line at podcast@boardgamebbq.com If you enjoy the podcast please consider leaving a short review on your podcast app of choice. Your feedback will help us improve the podcast, and we might even read your review out on the show!

161 episodes